Buy it, use it, break it, fix it

20Nov08

I have always adored Russian dolls.

I always wanted one.

I have never owned one.

I like to look, touch, dissect, inspect, imagine, reassemble.

That pretty sums me up.

Fond memories came rushing back while viewing this video from old school Sesame Street.

I now know where my Russian doll fixation was born.

I want to thank Kim for sending this to me.

Proof that she digs me like I dig Russian dolls.

13 Responses to “Buy it, use it, break it, fix it”

  1. WOW! You CAN find just about anything on youtube. So, did you purchase the ones she recommended? I did. Now you can make/decorate your own but with maybe a smile or two.

  2. Oh I love that old video! You should make some of your own 🙂

  3. I swear they used to play this on Sesame Street or something…I have seen it and always loved it!

  4. I’d be an even better friend if I just got you your own Russian Doll set! 🙂

  5. I have seen that before too! Seems like a Sesame Street thing for sure. 🙂

  6. I, too, remember that Sesame Street bit (though perhaps I didn’t become obsessed with it to the same degree you did).

    That does make me wonder, though…did Sesame Street ever do a segment on beer? (The Count: “Ninety-nine bottles of beer on the wall, ah ha ha…”)

  7. I remember that clip!

    YAY Kim 🙂

  8. I’m dying a little inside because had I known of your fondness for Russian dolls (called Metrushkas, as you probably know!) I would have given you a beautiful blue one I bought while I was IN Russia. Now I’m thinking I might have lost it, or thrown it away in a recent We Like To Purge It, Purge It session. SAD.

  9. My friend had one of those, I didn’t, *sob*!!

  10. Why not just buy one?

    You can find a bunch here

  11. I love this video and have fond memories of it from my childhood. I happen to have one thing I have collected since childhood and it happens to be nesting dolls, or Matryoshka dolls. I am just so happy to now have a little girl to pass them all onto.

    Thanks to Kim for finding this video and to you for posting it!

  12. SS rules and my child would never watch it. Well, only the Elmo segments, which drove me nuts.

    Such a great show, and how many of us were practically raised by it?

  13. we had a foreign exchange student from russia and she brought me some *authentic* russian dolls as a gift. i LOVED them. ‘cept i can’t find them after the birth of my second child. d’oh!


Leave a Reply

