Collecting Dust

23Jun08

I have a mounting collection of books that I would love to read; I just haven’t gotten around to it.

I love to buy books. I hold out hope that one day I will read an entire novel again.

Do you have any suggestions for what I can add to this pile? Seriously! I want to know. I hate missing out on a good book.

14 Responses to “Collecting Dust”

  1. You have the new David Sedaris book and it’s not yet been devoured? Such restraint!

    It’s a time management issue, really. And, I still need to finish Naked

  2. I’m reading The Glass Castle right now for my book club. So far, I really like it. It’s sad but then again, I like strange and sad. I also bought David’s new book and can’t wait to read it. I’d marry him if he weren’t gay. Me Talk Pretty One Day happens to be one of my all-time favorite books.

    and yes, I copied and pasted my comment from your flickr pic.

  3. What are these “books” of which you speak?

  4. Sad but true I have a few books on the go. I never used to read more than one at a time, then I had kids and I have to read in spurts so I have a few around to keep me going.

  5. 5 Kami

    I want to read The Other Boleyn Girl .I’m sure I am showing my literary prowess with my awesome spelling abilities too….
    But you have that one so I am not too much help. Not too much reading going on around here either though it is one of my favourite pastimes.

  6. People, US Weekly, Real Simple….

    Oh, did you say BOOKS? Sorry, no help there. 🙂

  7. Please don’t remind me! I’m depressed enough about my own pile.

  8. 8 VDog

    I got nuthin’. Sorry hun. Baby = no book reading time.

  9. 9 Jill

    I should read some of these. I’ve read so many “crap” books just because they were easy to “read” in audiobook format while working out. They didn’t require much thought, but after a while I almost started yelling at the author/narrator/characters while I was running because the books were so stupid. Then I would have been some crazy girl running while talking to herself!

  10. 10 jane

    i love your new look! so amazed with your progress with the training! 🙂 you go girl!

  11. 11 Joe

    I have a similar pile of books, including the Sedaris book that lays atop your pile (and btw “A Certain Chemistry” was great as well.

    The Ethical Assassin by David Liss (I think) was good as was “Citizen Vince” by Jess Walter. “And Then We Came to an End” was also good even though it gets slow in the middle and nearly everyone puts it down at that point. It’s worth sticking with in the end. Finally, I’ll add “How to Talk to a Widower” by Jonathan Tropper and pretty much anything by Tom Perotta.

    OHHHH! Thank you! I’ll check them out for possible addition to the pile!

  12. I just saw the Other Boleyn Girl the other day. I liked it husband was bored. I loved the movie Prince of Tides! I just have time to read mags!

  13. oh, my to-be-read pile is so tall it’s about to fall over. i still need to read the latest by Douglas Coupland and Nick Hornby. pick up anything by them. modern classics.

  14. 14 musingsofamama

    Oh girl… we have the same bad habit. My collection of books drives Randy insane.

    My all time favorite is Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged. It’s a heavy read though.

    I also love Jodi Picoult. Quick and easy reads, but well written enough to keep me interested.

    I also just finished Sunday at Tiffany’s by James Patterson. Charming story and super easy read… had it finished in two days.

    Right now, I am just starting Water for Elephants. I hear it is really good.


Leave a Reply

