Training Partners

20Jun08

I’d like to take a moment to thank these fine inanimate objects that make my current triathlon training possible.

Mark Allen Online

Mark Allen is a seven-time Ironman champion. He runs a great triathlon coaching website that generates my daily workouts based on my age, height, weight, past exercise experience, and current fitness level. If all goes as promised, this training program just might push my performance to new levels! 

Polar Heart Rate Monitor

An important part of the Mark Allen training is monitoring your heart rate.  I have been training in the past based on “perceived exertion,” but now I need to get a read on what my heart is really doing.  It’s humbling, really.  I need to be training within my aerobic zone, which for me is a heart rate of 124 – 144 bpm.  I usually workout at 160 bpm.  I have to sllllllooooooow the fuck down, which is aggravating at times… but as my buddy Coach Chuck told me, “Sometimes you need to slow down to speed up.” 

Apparently, by training within your aerobic zone, you train your body to burn fat for fuel instead of carbs and MUSCLE, thus, providing far more energy and building a better base.  Little by little, you get faster while still maintaining the aerobic zone.  There are many other benefits; mainly, I enjoy not feeling beat to shit after a long workout.

Brooks Adrenaline GTS 8

These are the best shoes on the market for folks like me whose feet overpronate — my feet land on the outer edge and roll inward.  Love them, love them, love them.  And the 2008’s are WAY cuter than my old 2007’s.

AccelGel

Glory be!  I finally found a gel that I not only like tasting, but doesn’t make me want to vomit.  I also dig the 4:1 ratio of carbs to protein, it’s good for the muscles!

New Baby: Trek Madone 4.7 WSD

(She’ll be arriving here next Thursday!)

(photo credits: Polar USA; Brooks Running; Accelerade; Trek Bikes

8 Responses to “Training Partners”

  1. Ooooh…. pretty new bike! How fun and exciting!

    It’s funny that you posted this stuff today, because I did a post on my running blog about gear today too.
    http://www.jillwillrun.com

    I need to slow down for the same reasons. I’m pushing too hard and now that I have a HR monitor I’m realizing that.

    I need to start playing with the gels to figure out how I want to fuel myself during runs. That is seriously the most difficult thing for me; trying to figure out how much to eat in the mornings, what to eat during the run, what to eat after so I feel good, etc. I can’t eat the AccelGel or drink the Accelrade, they make me sick because of the whey protein. I would like to have a good source of protein to help repair the muscles, but so many things use whey. I need a nutritionist to guide me, someone with a solid foundation in sports or something! 🙂

  2. I really learned something! Thanks for information I can actually use (when I decide to finally exercise.) I had no clue that you shouldn’t push yourself too hard and keeping your rate within a certain range. I know I’m not running the risk of burning too much muscle and no fat because my range is around 65-70.

  3. You are so awesomely hard core! Go YOU!

    That bike is purty 🙂

  4. Agh, those gel thingies look delish! hehe What do they taste like?

    Yea for a new bike!!! And new shoes?? You’ll be faster than fast! woo hoo!!

  5. I’m a little surprised that there isn’t a big “Tanquerade” bottle on here as your other fuel of choice. 😉

    Love the new bike!

    I’m still working on the proper formulation. I’ll report back as soon as it’s finished.

  6. This post made me want to go for a run. It’s like 10 PM and I’m already gung ho for my run in the morning. I wish I could be as hardcore as you but at least you’re inspiring me.

  7. 7 jonb

    Sweet ride!

    I’m going to have to try that Gel..I’ve hated all the ones I’ve tried..even grosser are the ‘shot blocks’–oop..just threw up in my mouth a little.

  8. 8 VDog

    Oh mah gawd, that bike is GORGEOUS!! SO jealous! If my bike looked like that, I might actually RIDE it. *might* heh.

    The right running shoes make all the difference, fo sho!

    Do you have to wear the heart rate monitor around your ribcage as well or is it just the watch? Those ribcage ones would always give me side stitches. Blech.

    Awesome stuff all around! You go, gurl!


Leave a Reply

