That’s IronGirl to you

16Apr08

Yep, I did it!  I successfully completed my triathlon on Saturday!  I swam .93 miles, biked 24 miles, and ran 6.2 miles in 3 hours, 57 minutes, and 42 seconds.  Although I broke no land speed records, I achieved my goal and did it with a smile on my face (except during the run).  It was a highly emotional day, one I will never forget.

Overall, I felt fantastic during most of my race.  I swam faster than I thought I would, and I actually enjoyed the bike ride — hills and all.  I loved the camaraderie with the other women in the race; everyone, and I mean EVERYONE was so cheery and supportive.  Who knew women could be so sweet to each other?😉  An added bonus, NBC was on hand to film the event.  And for two miles, a camera man and driver followed me to the finish on my bike!  On July 26th, I’ll see if I ended up on the cutting room floor or not.

The run, however, was very difficult.  The terrain was rough and steep, and around mile three I wasn’t sure I was going to finish.  I felt my legs give out, my lungs tighten, and I started to panic.  And it was hot.  But I thought about my family, I thought about all of you and your support, and I remembered the cause for which I was racing. 

I thought about my friend Kim, whose dad battled leukemia.  I thought about a story her mom told me, when her dad refused chemo and she sat on his hospital bed, crying and begging him to start the treatment.  It was an experimental treatment for his rare form of blood cancer.  It was rough on him, but it worked, and he is now entering his seventh year as a survivor! 

I knew I could finish.

irongirl.jpg

The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society is a very special organization, and I am honored to have trained on their behalf.

Kim was at the race Saturday, and took many pictures of the day.  You can see them here, via her Flickr account:

Thank you, oh blog readers, for all your supportive comments!  It all meant a lot to me!

13 Responses to “That’s IronGirl to you”

  1. I would first like to point out that you are proof that anything can be done with a little determination and hard work; especially considering you weren’t an athlete as of 5 months ago!

    I am so incredibly proud of you, especially after witnessing firsthand what you had to go through! I was exhausted just following you around with my camera. 🙂

    It was an emotional day all around and I am so glad that I was there to cheer you on. I am equally happy that the Leukemia and Lymphoma society exists at all. If it weren’t for all of the amazing research, my dad would not be here today!

    xoxo

  2. You amaze me!

    I am so very proud of you, and if I ever get to meet you in person, I am giving you a HUGE hug!

  3. Rock on!! What an amazing accomplishment! So glad I was able to experience this amazing journey with you from the comfort of my own home and couch. 😀

    Can’t wait to tag along with another journey, I am sure, on the horizon.

  4. 4 Kami

    Marci! I am very proud of you, that is simply amazing what you have pushed your body to do. And all for an AMAZING cause.

    Congratulations on succeeding!

    🙂

    Ps Jack is NOT using his eyes together after the surgery but I am NOT getting upset about it. The cause you raced for? We could be dealing with that instead of strabismus. I’ll take strabismus hands down ANY day.

    Oh and I knew you could do it! I am with Angella, big hug from me IF I ever get to meet. Maybe a blogger rendevous if LV?

    😉

  5. Amazing! Congrats! I sure couldn’t do it…well, not without dying.

  6. Congratulations!!! Very inspiring. Maybe I’ll try this one day.

  7. You totally ROCK THE CASBAH! I am so proud of you.

  8. Woot! Seriously, so rad.

  9. Fantastic. I think it is fabulous that you pushed yourself to the limit and completed the triathlon. Amazing. And to do it for such a worthy cause. Good for you.

  10. You rawk, gurl. You kicked it, fo sho!

    Congrats!

  11. Congratulations, that’s an astounding feat. Incredible.

  12. Marci, you know I’m quite proud of you! I’m proud of your determination and drive to keep going even if you had a gin hangover at 6am while on your way to swim. I simply couldn’t and wouldn’t be able to accomplish this feat.

    The pictures were beautiful and FULL of the emotional rollercoaster you have been feeling these past months. I have to admit, I was very teary-eyed while viewing them.

    Did you ever ask us for support for the run? Did I forget? (probably) I would’ve contributed, you know. My grandmother died of leukemia. at 38.

  13. you GO IRON GIRL!!

    Only wish I could race there with ya!

    Come to Maryland in August and we CAN!

    Iron girl weekend was on of hte best of my life so far…welcome to the club!


Leave a Reply

