A Training, Googling Catholic

07Mar08

Hi!  Yes, I know!  I totally skipped Triathlon Tuesday/Wednesday/Thursday.  It’s my blog and I can do what I want.

For the record, I’m now swimming 2000 meters, biking 25 miles, and running 7 miles.  The race is in five weeks, and aside from putting all the pieces together, I’m swimming/biking/running distances that surpass the race distances for each sport.

The fact that my race training falls right in the middle of Lent is posing a problem for me.  I am Catholic.  I follow the Catholic rules of fast and abstinence (not that type of abstinence) during Lent.  Well, except last Friday.  I met 180/360 for breakfast at the best breakfast joint in Vegas.  I cannot go there and NOT eat the sage fried chicken with applewood smoked bacon mashed potatoes.  (I will be making up that Lenten Friday before Easter, FYI).  Moving on…

For all you non-Catholics out there, we (collectively known as Catholics) cannot eat meat during the Fridays of Lent.  This is called abstinence.  Ash Wednesday and Good Friday are days of fast AND abstinence, which means that we (the collective known as Catholics) cannot eat meat, nor ANYTHING the entire day.  Actually, we can eat two very small snacks, or one light meal in the evening.

The amount of training I’m doing pretty much demands that I stuff my face to compensate for the calories I’m burning — 350 – 950 a day, depending on the activity.  950 calories is almost half of what I consume a day.  And I need meat.  I cannot function without meat in my diet.

The day after Ash Wednesday, after I fasted all day, I was supposed to run for 45 minutes.  With no fuel in my body from the day before, I had no energy, ZERO, nope… none.  I physically could not run.  I walked for 30 minutes and went home.  Saturday mornings are our big team workouts.  Not being able to eat meat on Fridays causes a problem for me, too, because I get a lot of energy from meat.  At least, I like to think so.  Regardless, proteins nourish and build our muscles.  So I spend my Lenten Fridays seeking out non-meat proteins, like eggs.  This morning, Paige and I shared an egg and cheese burrito I whipped together.

Eggs….?  Hmmmm…. don’t eggs grow up to become…. MEAT?

I’ve spent about a half hour Googling “Catholics eating eggs during Lent” and “Are eggs meat?”  The good news, I’m allowed to eat eggs.  I won’t bore you with the details, or the origin of “Meatless Fridays” in The Church.  I’m just happy that I can consume my much-desired eggs so I don’t pass out tomorrow — or cause terrible injury to my muscles — because I couldn’t consume enough tasty, tasty protein.

11 Responses to “A Training, Googling Catholic”

  1. I thought you could eat fish?? Wait, you have a thing against fish, right? That blows. Peanut Butter! On English Muffins! Nuts! Protein fruit smoothie shakes. The possibilities are endless! 🙂

    Keep up the good work!

    Dude, 5 weeks for you = 5 weeks for me. YIKESSSS! Will you be thinking of me while you’re running/swimming/biking?? 😀

  2. Thank you God for eggs. Amen.

  3. Can you eat fake meat? I’ve got some yummy fake bacon you should try!

    I can’t even begin to imagine exercising that hard on an empty stomach. That’s just wrong! Good thing Easter will be over a couple of weeks before your triathlon. You can chow down on a protein packed big filet (or two) to make up for lost time.

  4. On a side note: Your BlogHer ads are about starving children in Cambodia who don’t even have the luxury to eat more than porridge and rotten water, let alone some good old meat!

    😀

  5. Girl, you need energy!

    Eggs give me gas, though. I hope you don’t have the same problem, what with all of the energy exertion and all 😉

  6. 6 KT

    So I know you despise fish (especially the smell), BUT… cod is super mild and flaky, you might really like it! You could probably con Andrew into grilling up some halibut for you too- also mild and much more dense. If he cooks it outside you won’t smell it!

    Training during lent sounds painful! Orthodox Lent begins next Monday… I am going out for a steak this weekend!!!

  7. Wow, good for you for training during Lent. Giving up anything is tough, but giving it up when your body needs it is even harder. I was going to make the same suggestion as KT about cooking some fish outside on the BBQ. I never cook fish in the house and it turns out great.

    Only five weeks to go, amazing!

  8. Wow, this is a challenge in training that I wouldn’t have imagined. Good luck on this!

    I was going to suggest Boca burgers or Morningstar Farms prducts. They’re pretty decent and are protein packed!

  9. You are so good! I still eat at least one meal or two and drink alcohol on Fridays, I just try to steer clear of meat. I know, I’m a model Catholic or is that I’m not a model Catholic.

  10. I stick to protein bars or shakes on Friday’s during Lent. Peanut butter and cheese can give you a boost too.

  11. What about almonds/hazelnuts/pumpkin seeds/etc. as protein?


Leave a Reply

