Triathlon Tuesday, Week 4: Things I’m Learning

06Feb08

Hi, I know. It’s a day late. I have been buried in contract work. I spent last night staying up too late to finish the aforementioned work; witnessing a car break-in across the street; reporting the aforementioned car break-in to police dispatch; staring out the window for another 30 minutes acting like McGruff the Crime Dog; jumping at every sound on the street thereafter; and getting my work done at, oh, 2:30am.

But enough about that. I know you’re all dying to read my stats.

Swim: 1350 meters

Bike: 15 miles

Run: 7 miles

Here is a varied list of things that I am learning along the way:

Chlorine smell doesn’t really leave your skin.

I can actually swim.

I am not much of a cyclist.

Crazy road cyclists are kind of asshole-ish.

I am capable of voluntarily getting up two hours before my children awake to go on a run.

Powerbar Gel is a highly repulsive man-made substance.

Each time I have to consume a gel, I can’t help but to think of SNL’s Cookie Dough Sport.

I don’t understand what is in recovery drinks, but they make me feel good after a long workout.

I am physically stronger than I give myself credit for.

I am one determined muther trucker.

11 Responses to “Triathlon Tuesday, Week 4: Things I’m Learning”

  1. Nice brick. Yeah cyclists are a strange bunch. You’d think that they’d be a little more humble since they are allowed to draft. Buy alas, No. Great numbers but what were the times?

  2. go you!

    and i agree, that gel stuff is ewwwww gross.

  3. Like I said at lunch the other day, I wasn’t going to gel during the marathon because I thought it was nasty… but that was the best stuff EVER during the actual event. Don’t think I’d want to eat it again right now either, but in the middle of another huge event I’ll probably plan on it!

    You are amazing and strong. Go mother trucker! (ha ha)

  4. Yay, good for you, you just keep on going. The gel stuff is totally disgusting, but it works!

  5. You are one of my favourite mother truckers.

    GO YOU!!

  6. I am in awe. Plain and simple awe. You are a machine!

  7. 7 KT

    Keep it up Spurling! Nice work!

  8. How did you witness the break in? Were you just looking out the window???

  9. Yea, I’m with 180 – how did you witness the break-in?

  10. You are incredible, girl. I am totally in awe of you.

  11. 11 mama

    Dude… your Triathalon Tuesday posts seriously make me break out into a cold sweat. HOW do you do it? As someone who is blessed with the skinny gene, but TERRIBLY, HORRIBLY out of shape, I applaud you, and I am afraid of you all at the same time. I can’t even find the mental or physical fortitude to walk around my freaking block.

    Tell me of your wise, physical ways… grasshopper.

    By the way, I am LONG overdue on owing you an email!


Leave a Reply

