The insanity of balance

07Dec07

In the middle of this hectic holiday season, I am reviving my freelance business by taking on some contract work. 

People must think I’m insane, trying to juggle all this bizwax.  But I love it.  I feel very vital when I work professionally, especially when I can meld being a stay-at-home-servant to my chicks with doing interesting work on a contract basis.  In some strange way, I am far more efficient when I have several irons in the fire than when I am idle.

Best of all, I feel balanced.

So what is it I’m doing?  I take short-term contracts with an educational software company to help with a variety of projects.  Projects range from script writing for interactive reading software, to passage writing, to developing reading comprehension questions for worksheets.   I have even worked with a team to evaluate and fact-check questions on retired standardized tests.  (Yeah, that was an eye-opener.  I hold an even lower regard for standardized testing now…)

What I really love about it is that I can use all my teaching knowledge, and put it to good use in the comfort of my own home while children paw at my legs I take care of my children.  My contract work is challenging, interesting, and I love the flexibility and freedom it brings.  The extra cash isn’t bad either.

12 Responses to “The insanity of balance”

  1. Oh Marci that is so exciting for you! I feel the same way about my contract work and I am totally more efficient when I have several things on the go.

    So happy for you!

  2. That’s awesome that you have the opportunity to do this. Even though I don’t have kids yet, I can understand the need to keep in contact with the “professional” world.

  3. that sounds so great! yay!

  4. I can totally relate to this.

    Yay for a challenge, and for extra MOOLA 🙂

  5. yes, you have always been good at balance. if it is off in anyway, you are the first one to recognize and do something about it. rock on sistah!

  6. That is so awesome. I was bringing in a little contract work myself for a while, but stopped once I got pregnant. I am hoping to rekindle it again next year. I like a little something extra to work on to keep me in the know and the extra money doesn’t hurt either.

  7. Good luck with your new endeavor! 🙂

  8. You are one busy lady! Between your mama duties, the triathlon and now your contract work- what’s next? teaching ESL to Bolivian refugees? 🙂

    Now that we are working women, I think we should meet up for regular “after-work” drinks to discuss future business deals. And I’m not talking about an establishment in either of our garages or your closet.

    Miss you…

  9. 9 jane

    that’s awesome- i would give my right leg if i could work at home…ok wait- maybe i would give up sex on mondays. that would be better.

  10. Hehe, good for you.

  11. sometimes, you need to do something to make you feel more than a mom but less than pawn for “the man.”

  12. I love freelancing but it leaves little time for a normal life LOL! You have to time manage! good luck! Extra moolah is always good!


Leave a Reply

