O Canada!

10Aug07

A few days ago, Canadian money appeared in my wallet. Five whole Canadian cents. When I lived in Oregon and Washington, much closer to the border, Canadian coins were almost always in circulation along with US currency. Now that I live in the southwest, it was quite a surprise to see Queen Elizabeth staring at me from my coin purse.

I thought I should take a moment to stop being a self-absorbed American, and pay homage to Canada and my Canadian pals I’ve made on my blog journey thus far…

Places I want to visit in Canada:

– Alberta: My parents and I visited Alberta in 1984. I was only 10, but I thought it was the most beautiful place! And you know, 10-year-olds don’t think about things as being beautiful– Alberta was that breathtaking. I would love to go back and see these places again — Lake Louise, Banff, Calgary.

– Montreal: My parents visited Montreal 13 years ago, and fell in love with it. It looks like a mini Paris to me!

– The Okanagan: Just because I’ve seen so many pictures of it from Angella and Amanda’s blogs. It looks lovely.

Nice Canadian bloggers to whom I’d like to say HELLO!

Angella

Amanda

Beach Mama

Kami

Tina

HI, and thank you for visiting my little blog now and then!

Canadians who I think are hot:

Rachel McAdams

Ryan Gosling

Jason Priestly (hey, I was a high school girl in the early 1990s!)

Hayden Christensen

Michael J. Fox (hey, I was a child in the 1980s!)

There are many more, but I’m running out of time for an extensive IMDB search… feel free to add to the list.

The most puzzling thing a Canadian ever asked me:

– On a pit stop while driving to Vancouver, B.C., I ordered a sandwich at a little coffee shop. The waitress asked me if I wanted white bread, or brown bread. Brown bread? I think that’s what us Yankees call wheat bread, but I wasn’t sure. I opted for white.

Can someone fill me in, what is brown bread? Or was this particular waitress high on weed?

What I admire most about Canada:

– It seems like a very peaceful country.

One thing I wish would stay IN Canada and OFF of Playhouse Disney:

The Doodlebops: Somebody, please… STOP THEM!

13 Responses to “O Canada!”

  1. Shhh…don’t let the Canadians hear me say this…but I think Canada has bad breath.

  2. I have never been to ‘O Canada. I need to get out there…..

    I guess making it out to California from Oklahoma is not too shabby. Luckily, it wasn’t during the dust bowl. That looked pretty hairy.

  3. You should totally come to the Okanagan and enjoy some Canadian hospitality.
    PS: There’s a winery across the street from my house. Yeah, that’s right; a vineyard in my backyard! Think of the buzzed fun we could have!

    Vineyards? TEMPTING!!!

  4. Amen to the hot Canadians! (And for the surprisingly same reasons on some of those!)

    I went to Victoria in… um… 1998? It was when my dad lived in the Seattle area and we took a ferry up there. It was interesting, but I’m sure very different from everywhere else in Canada.

  5. Hi right back at ya, and thanks for visiting my humble little corner of the internet too ๐Ÿ˜‰

    And brown bread… I am so Canadian it’s all I know how to call whole wheat bread. Brown, white… get it?!

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    And the Doodlebops rock – c’mon Barney is WAY more annoying!

    YES< Barney IS annoying. The oldest on the house is all about Little Einsteins.

  6. i love michael j. fox. forever and ever!

  7. Come to the Okanagan! We’ll hit the wineries! And eat healthy sandwiches on brown bread. You guys really call it wheat bread? I had no idea. Kind of like how you call pop “soda”. It cracks me up every time. Man, we could do posts on all of the differences.

    Oh yeah – and when you come? Bring littlemissmel with you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Stop with this talk of wineries! I might have to book a ticket on Air Canada tomorrow…

  8. Well, I think you should come to Ottawa. Montrรฉal is only a little two hour drive away so you would get the best of both worlds. See the Capital (and me) and mini-Paris. Here in Ottawa we call it wheat bread too, but some call it brown. Either way it’s bread ;).

    And I always thought the Doodlebops were American, here I have been educated.

    Nobody wants to take credit for The Doodlebops!

  9. 9 KT

    SO you forgot that Corey Haim is Canadian too… Too bad he is a total crack head now. I loved Montreal when I went there a couple years ago- AMAZING!

  10. zJ *HATES* the doodlebops. I can’t stand them either- what is their deal anyways?

  11. I, too, love a large number of Canadian bloggers. ๐Ÿ™‚

    The Doodlebops make me want to commit unspeakable acts of violence. Just the name alone…ARG! Metalia angry! Must smash! [Turns green and Hulk-like.]

  12. Wow. You sure did your Canadian research. I didn’t know those were all Canadians! We don’t like the Doodlebops, either. Seeing as I lived fairly close to Canada- the only place I’ve ever been is Dawson City in the Yukon territory. Woo Hoo!

    There do seem to be an awful lot of nice canadian bloggers!

    Miss you. xxx

  13. doodlebops must die!

    but, ryan gosling can drive my car anytime!


Leave a Reply

