Prom Retrospective, Day 2

08May07

Here we have installment #2! This would be the last formal Homecoming dance that my high school put on.

Homecoming, Fall 1989

Ah, much better. With 1990 looming in the near future, we were able to move past giant hot-rollered hair and shellacked bangs. My date here is my best guy friend Brian.

Overall appearance and execution

Again, the hair is tame. A combination of changing hair trends and me, feeling like a big rebel, decided that it was entirely uncool to fuss with one’s hair. I mean, in the Big Bang era, I would get up extra early just to mess with my bangs. They had to be perfect. There is another big change from the previous year.  If you look closely, you can see my clear braces.  As for the dress, I borrowed this simple blue velour dazzler from my best friend Heidi; and if memory serves, she wore the purple monstrosity I wore the previous year! I guess I was really in love those gold hoops, because I’m wearing them again. I remember they were so heavy that they tugged on my earlobes and caused much pain.  The corsage is still pretty terrible as well. Is there no way to make a tasteful wrist corsage? We really had no option, because nobody ever knew how to pin anything on.

The story behind the picture

As I mentioned above, Brian was my best guy friend. He was a fantastic person; a bit of a tripper, but a cool dude nonetheless. I was heartbroken after being dumped for the umpteenth time by my on/off boyfriend Dustin, and Brian was eternally pining for Becky. Since he and I were both hosed, we decided that misery loved company, and off the Homecoming we went. It was a fun time, far better than the year before. I would learn the lesson later on that it was far better to go to a formal with a good guy friend than with a boyfriend on the outs.

7 Responses to “Prom Retrospective, Day 2”

  1. 1 Angella

    I should post a picture of MY big bangs. Ice Mist was my friend 🙂

    He had sweet hair, btw;)

    Angella — Ice Mist was my hair drug of choice, too!! Nothing worked better. ~LV

  2. 2 180/360

    I don’t think we need to talk about your hair- but HIS oh my! Definitely channeling some late 80’s alt look. And is he wearing jeans with a silk jacket?! I (unfortunately) totally rocked jackets much like that one. R.I.P. Shoulder pads!

    Once again- you look good. 🙂

  3. 3 Amanda

    I love these waltzes down memory lane. I think your hair is very tame and nothing to be ashamed of. 🙂

  4. My prom date did the pin on corsage and there was some definite sagging resulting from inability to pin it. I went with my best guy friend too and it was really fun.

  5. Oh, my GOD. This picture made me laugh out loud and have a room full of Italian computer geeks staring at me, the crazy American girl. Yeah, your hair is totally normal here, buy Bri…oh, Bri…all those boys were sporting the skater look that year. What I can’t figure out is why your homecoming pic with Brian is so much different than mine with Raleigh (we had a horrid Blue background & I wasn’t as hip as you, as I was still sporting the big bangs 🙂

  6. 6 Lefty

    That is definitely a fab new masthead.

  7. 7 jane

    I so remember that guys’ hairdo during the 80s!! you however look darling


Leave a Reply

