Prom: A Retrospective

07May07

It’s May, and that means that it’s PROM SEASON! I want to celebrate.

Over the course of this week, I will be posting various pictures from my career as a prom-goer. There is just too much to say, so I need to break up my collection of pictures into a more palpable design. So let’s begin with installment #1:

Homecoming 1988

FEAR THE HAIR!!

Here I am, all dolled up for my first formal dance. And that’s my date, Marc. This picture was taken at the pre-dance gathering where all the parents frantically snap pictures as we were blinded by the rapid-fire flashes. Hence, the washed out photo and shadow effect.

Overall appearance and execution

There is a lot of nonsense going on in my formal get-up. Please take notice of the baby’s breath in my hair. It lined the quasi-French twist along the back of my head. Fully appreciate, if you will, the balance between my hair and the flair on my shoulder. There is a giant hoop earring peeking out on the left side of my face. Look at how I awkwardly clasped my hands! The tan line on my right shoulder is awesome, too. And I could be wrong, but that might be the largest wrist corsage west of the Mississippi.

The story behind the picture…

Marc and I were kinda, sorta of “going out,” but not really. In fact, that’s how I explained it to people back then. “Hey, are you and Marc going out?” “Kinda, sorta, but not really.” We ate lunch together everyday, and talked on the phone every night. But that was it. Marc was really funny, had spectacular blue eyes, and was way into The Cure. But our personalities were like oil and water. By the time the dance rolled around, we had this semi-antagonistic relationship. That, and we were 14 years old… just a hop, skip, and jump away from cooties and hair pulling.

So the dance experience was pretty much a bust.

5 Responses to “Prom: A Retrospective”

  1. 1 jane

    Oooh LOVE IT! I never went to prom…no one asked me. Bastards…hey how did you get your layout? I’ve been trying to work on mine but since I’m such a moron as of lately, I can’t figure it out so I figured I wouldn’t mind shelling out some dough for it.

    Thanks girl! and you are so lovely!

  2. Great photo! I would have to dig hard to find one from my prom. And I was thinking Wow you and I graduated the same year. However, your prom is from Jr High, mine in ’88 was from High School. I remember those days well, it was fun but now after all these years, I wouldn’t go back and do it again, for a long time I thought I would if I ever got a do-over.

  3. 3 180/360

    You were so much prettier than I was at 14!

  4. 4 Angella

    Sweet photo! We never had a prom… 😦

  5. 5 KT

    “Here’s your god damn flowery shit!” How that didn’t make it into this blog entry, I’ll never know…

    Oh KT, I did add it in. But then I had to elaborate so much on the ENTIRE evening, and it was too much. I knew that you’d leave a comment when you read this, and would say something about my beloved flowery shit!


Leave a Reply

