New discoveries and old friends

26Apr07

Okay, so I’ve been back since Monday night. I needed some time to get back into the swing of things, get my computer fixed (finally! Now I can read and comment on other Blogger blogs!) and fight off a random cold. The thought of writing this long post was rather daunting, too.

ANYWAY, the trip was fantastic and very memorable. I had so much fun with Erin, enjoyed getting to know her husband Greg even better…but really, this little dumpling made the trip worth while:

This is Edie Marie; remember her name because I believe she will grow up to be someone very important! This child, at the ripe old age of 5 months, is pure happiness and light. Strangers on the street are completely and totally drawn to her. And she’s quite a snuggler, which made her Auntie Marci very happy when she missed her own little girls.

The flight out was nice. It was the first time in eons that I had room in my brain to think about random things. So what did I do? In a moment of boredom, I stared over the aisle to some nice, presumably nerdy man’s tray table as Star Trek: The Next Generation played on his portable DVD player. I listened to my iPod in peace. I thought a lot about Michael Jackson as I listened to my “Sorry Miss Jackson” mix, I even jotted notes for this blog.

Erin was gracious enough to pick me up from the airport at 1:30 in the morning! We talked and talked until 4:00am, I think. Saturday, Erin and Greg humored me and took me sight-seeing around the Washington D.C. monuments.

Greg, Edie and me, somewhere inside the FDR memorial.

The Monticello

People swarming about the Lincoln Memorial, like it’s freakin’ Disneyland. Yes, Erin and I were among the swarmers.

Abe, the man that saved the Union. His memorial is impressive.

In front of the Lincoln Memorial, a view of the Washington Monument and the reflective pool.
I was actually standing at…

…the very spot where Martin Luther King gave his “I Have a Dream” speech.

The Vietnam Memorial. There are so many names on that wall. Too many.

The Lincoln Memorial at sunset.

The rest of the trip was just as fun. Erin and I had plenty of time to catch up and iron out the world’s problems, as per usual. Awkward silence has never been a problem for us. We explored the cool little town she and Greg live in, and saw a little bit more of D.C. before my departure.

And of course, Cryfest was a blast! It reminded me of going “mod dancing” in high school at some little under age club in Walnut Creek. (Lisa, what the heck was the name of that place?? Erin and I couldn’t remember!) If you’re in the D.C. area, love alternative 80’s music, you must check out the upcoming dance-off events at The Black Cat: http://www.myspace.com/fymproductionsdc. The New Order vs. Duran Duran face-off sounds delightful.

The best part for me, aside from giving little Edie tons of kisses, was seeing Erin so happy.
She really seems to strike a balance between her new family life, her career, and her Ph.D program… and is adjusting to motherhood in such a heartwarming manner. Erin is a terrific mother, and Edie’s radiating spirit speaks volumes to the love that her mommy and daddy give her.

It’s such a kick to think back on the days when Erin and I analyzed everything ad nauseam, our biggest concerns being boy problems and college application anxiety. Now, here we are, two moms… though not much has changed between us. We’re still trying to figure it all out — life, liberty, and pursuit of happiness. Thanks for everything, Holvus! XOXO

6 Responses to “New discoveries and old friends”

  1. 1 little miss mel

    such a sweet post!

    so glad you had a fab time with miss e & e. too cute.

    glad you made it back. Drew sounded like he was started to melt. poor baby.

  2. 2 Sizzle

    that sounds like a fantastic trip! welcome home.

  3. 3 Jane is Dating

    that baby is BEAUTIFUL…and sounds like an awesome trip…love the pics.

  4. 4 180/360

    I’m glad you had a good time away. You were missed here!

  5. 5 KT

    Glad you and Erin had such a great time! Her baby is so cute! And by the way… I think th Walnut Creek club was the After Dark… but I may just be confusing it with the club on 90210.

  6. 6 Angelisa

    Yes, I do believe that kt is right…”After Dark” also popped into my head, although I was unsure if that was the name for the underage dance club in WC or in Alameda.

    Beautiful post! I’m so glad you guys had such a great time. Edie is such a bella bambina and Erin looks so great too!


Leave a Reply

