Answering the questions, part 1

16Apr07
Update to my previous post: I have a couple scripts blocked. That means I can read blogs from WordPress, but I still cannot see any Blogger blogs, including my own. I can log into my account, write or edit a post, publish, play with the template… but I can’t see the dang thing! I’m not 100% Internet technology savvy, so can anyone help me out?

ANYWAY… I’m catching the “Interview Me” fever. Whoorl sent me the following five questions, very nice of her 🙂 I also have some questions to answer from Dutch Blitz, ‘cuz I’m whoring around for interview questions. (I’m selectively whoring. I’m a good girl, remember?) Anyway, you’ll see those on Tuesday. Meme = Content.

1. How many states have you lived in? Which was your favorite?
I have lived in four states; Oregon, Washington, California, and Nevada. Even though I was born in Oregon, and have spent 18 years of my life in the Northwest, I’m a California girl at heart. I really became “me” when we moved to the Bay Area when I was 13.


2. What is the last thing you do before getting into bed?
I check on my girls and kiss them, and I kiss Andrew good night. Then I roll to my left side and pass out. Sleeping on my left side is a residual habit from pregnancy.


3. Do you floss daily?
YES!! After a couple needless cavities caused by not flossing, I have faithfully flossed ever since. And no more cavities.


4. If you could have any hairstyle and color, what would it be?
A well-timed question! I need to get my hair cut. I always love cute, short hair with bold highlights… but I never have the balls to do it. When I’ve asked previous hair dressers to cut my hair short, even if I show a picture, they chicken out and give me a short bob. I have a small head, people. It’s not a good look. My current hair dresser is a genius, and she offered to cut my hair short. I’m sure she’d do a great job, but my hair will probably stay in the same medium-length state the rest of my life, give or take a few inches.


5. What part of your body ails you the most?
My thyroid. Now a collective eye-roll begins amongst my friends… “She’s talking about her thyroid again…” I got the crappy thyroid gene from my mom and grammy. I was perfectly normal until I gave birth to Makenna, then it all went to pot. Pregnancy is the usual trigger for people who have dormant thyroid dysfunction. I have Hashimoto’s (domo arigato!) which is an autoimmune disorder that causes my body to create antibodies that attack my thyroid. In this case, my thyroid stops producing T4, which is the necessary thyroid hormone that makes our bodies function and metabolize stuff… otherwise known as Hypothyroidism. I wasn’t aware that I had this condition until after Makenna was born.

When Makenna was four months old, I was feeling a terrible ache in my joints, and I started feeling incredibly tired. I didn’t think anything of it, I assumed that being a new mom was taking it’s toll. Within two months, Makenna was sleeping 12 hours a night, and so was I, because I couldn’t stay up past 8pm. I would wake up, after 10 – 12 hours of uninterrupted sleep, feeling like someone have beat me over the head. I was feeling down, and I had a vicious temper. I would come unglued and yell horrible things at Andrew. I was getting puffy. I couldn’t hold a single thought in my head. I would look in the mirror and think, “I don’t look right…”

I finally went to my doctor, totally miserable and afraid that I was horribly depressed. A simple blood test showed that my T4 levels were dangerously low, and my thyroid stimulating hormone (TSH) was the second highest she had ever seen. TSH is the hormone that the brain emits to control the thyroid gland, it basically “tells” the gland to make more or less T4. If the thyroid gland isn’t producing enough T4, the TSH level will rise as the brain attempts to force the thyroid gland to make more T4. TSH levels should be between .3 and 2.5. Mine was 115.

I was sent to an endocrinologist who first asked me how I was even functioning, and then started me on Synthroid. Within three months I was stabilized and feeling great. It was amazing. I had no idea that I could be a new mom AND feel like a normal human being. The maintenance of this disease is minimal — I just pop a Synthroid each morning before I eat and wait an hour; every 3-6 months my T4 and TSH levels are tested. I will be on this medicine the rest of my life. Yes, that would freak many people out, and I was definitely bummed at first — but I’ve been to the other side and it was awful. So I embrace this medicine as it is necessary for my body to function. The only major drawback is that when I’m grumpy, the first thing Andrew asks is “Do you need to check your thyroid?” Thanks.

Wow, that was an enlightening tutorial about Hypothyroidism.

If you’d like to join in the interview fun, follow these directions:

1. Leave me a comment saying, “Interview me.” Then please email me at marci@lvgurl.com since Blogger doesn’t have a direct correspondence mechanism like WordPress.

2. I will respond by emailing you five questions. I get to pick the questions.

3. You will update your blog with the answers to the questions.

4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post.

5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.

If you’re not into the interview thing, that’s cool. If there’s something else you want to ask me, go right ahead!

5 Responses to “Answering the questions, part 1”

  1. 1 180/360

    Oh Blogebrity that you are- would you please interview a minion like me?

    I’ll leave out the part about your beautiful hair, gorgeous kids and perfect life. I don’t want your head to get too big!!!

    hehe 🙂

  2. 2 Sizzle

    i actually learned a lot!

    chop all your hair off. just do it. 🙂

  3. 3 180/360

    PS. You can talk about your thyroid as much as you want. I promise I won’t roll my eyes. Ever.

  4. 4 reddirtroad

    I, too, will never roll my eyes at thyroid talk. My TSH is .01. Hyperthyroid. Now it’s the big wait to see what happens.


  1. 1 Not functioning well at LVGurl

Leave a Reply

