General Frustration

15Apr07

I’m ready to throw my computer out the window. It was cleaned up and restored to its original state last week. Yesterday, I had a wireless network set-up (finally) and I was psyched! But there is a small problem… I can’t browse freely. My browser hangs with this message: “Waiting for http://www.google-analytics.com.” It doesn’t matter if I’m using IE7 or Firefox 2.0.0.3. I “googled” that Google Analytics message, and apparently it has something to do with third party data mining BLAH BLAH BLAH that my new, fancypants wireless connection is butting up against.

This mainly impacts my ability to log into my blog, or read any blogs that live at Blogger.com or WordPress.com. That means no Mel, no Metalia, no Plain Jane, no Lefty, no Sizzle, etc. You get the picture.

I emailed my tech guy to see if there is a script I can run to make this all stop, or if there is a simple security setting I need to change. Until I hear back from him, if ANYONE knows that this problem is and how to fix it, please leave a comment or email me. (Psst! Liz, ask Jack if he knows anything about this…)

Until I can get into Blogger, I have enlisted the help of 180/360, who is offering her ghostwriting services. I trust the woman with my life, my kids, and now my blogger ID and login information. Thanks Poom!

UPDATE 4:45pm — Another reason to dig Firefox. I loaded the Adblock plug-in. I’m still having trouble getting to various places, but I’m adblocking as I go along. I am amazed at how Google has infiltrated the Internet. And to think I interviewed there for a PR Manager position in 2001! Learn more here.

2 Responses to “General Frustration”

  1. 1 Sizzle

    ugh i hate computer problems! i hope it all gets sorted out. i missed you.

  2. 2 Jane is Dating

    ok here’s what going on with me- i just popped the first explosive projectile pimple I’ve ever had- gross but cool but now it’s gross again :S- slow weekend, saw psychic ooooh…


Leave a Reply

