Factoid Friday

02Mar07

I am recovering from The Great Nose Plague of 2007. Thank you all who voiced concern and sent your good wishes and remedies my way. My sinuses are no longer threatening to explode.

One of my oldest friends KT sent this gem to me yesterday. I’ve heard and/or seen some of these factoids in emails over the years, but decided to share. I love trivia. One of my high school nicknames was Cliff Clavin.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Many years ago in Scotland , a new game was invented. It was ruled “Gentlemen Only…Ladies Forbidden”…and thus the word GOLF entered into the English language.

The first couple to be shown in bed together on prime time TV were Fred and Wilma Flintstone.

Coca-Cola was originally green.

Every day more money is printed for Monopoly than the U.S.Treasury.

It is impossible to lick your elbow.

The state with the highest percentage of people who walk to work: Alaska

The percentage of Africa that is wilderness: 28%

The percentage of North America that is wilderness: 38%

The average number of people airborne over the U.S. in any given hour: 61,000

Intelligent people have more zinc and copper in their hair.

111,111,111 x 111,111,111 = 12,345,678,987,654,321

Only two people signed the Declaration of Independence on July 4th, John Hancock and Charles Thomson. The rest signed on August 2, except the last signature which wasn’t added until five years later.

Q. Half of all Americans live within 50 miles of what?
A. Their birthplace

Q. If you were to spell out numbers, how far would you have to go until you would find the letter “A”?
A. One thousand

Q. What do bulletproof vests, fire escapes, windshield wipers, and laser printers all have in common?
A. All were invented by women.

At least 75% of people who read this will try to lick their elbow.
(I’m among the 75%)

5 Responses to “Factoid Friday”

  1. 1 gorillabuns

    i have to admit, i have no desire to even try licking my elbows.

  2. 2 Sizzle

    i totally tried to lick my elbow.

    i had no idea about the origin of the word “golf.”

    thanks!

  3. 3 180/360

    Hey! I don’t know anyone in Alaska who walks to work. Where did they get that figure? Who wants to walk in the pitch dark and -50 below zero?

    🙂

  4. 4 metalia

    I LOVE trivia; this was great.

    And yes, I tried to lick my elbow. 😉

  5. 5 Lefty

    I only VISUALIZED trying to lick my elbow (and in my vision, I DID lick it).

    I do NOT live within 50 miles of my birthplace.

    Does the 61,000 people in the air count people who are jumping?


Leave a Reply

