It’s Lent. Repent!

21Feb07

Today is Ash Wednesday, kicking off the joyous season of Lent.

Each year, my mom gets exasperated. “No sooner do we celebrate Jesus’ birth, we turn around and hang him on a cross!” That’s my mom’s subtle way of pointing out that Lent takes place so quickly after Christmas. She says this every year, which prompts me to remind her that most religious historians believe that Jesus was born in March. Wouldn’t that be a quagmire? Good Friday and Christmas on the same day.

Lent is a slightly depressing time in the church, lots of talk of repentance and salvation. I am suppressing my urge to turn into crazy Catholic teacher lady, so you can read about Lent here.

I’ll be fasting today, which is tough, considering that there’s bag of red licorice on my kitchen counter. No meat on Fridays, which is tough, because asking me to not eat meat is akin to asking me to stop breathing. Love me the beefs. And at some point, I probably need to go to confession during these next six weeks.

I’m off to receive my ashes. Let the Lenten fun begin!

7 Responses to “It’s Lent. Repent!”

  1. 1 Lefty

    Confession?! Surely, you have nothing to confess.

  2. 2 KT

    OK, so Greek Orthodox lent actually started on Monday. THe direct translation is ‘Clean Monday’, which follow the ‘Sunday of Forgiveness,’ or what we now call ‘Prime Rib Sunday’ We went out and FEASTED that night! I am dissappointed that we are not supposed to have meat for the entire 40 days!!!! What am I going to do???? I wish we had the not on Fridays rule 😦

  3. 3 LVGurl

    Lefty – When you’re Catholic, everything is a sin.

    KT – You just gave me a great idea! I’m thinking of Chicken Finger Saturdays after each Meatless Friday.

  4. 4 180/360

    You know, there are these great Dwight Yoakum’s “Chicken Lickin’ Chicken Fries you can buy at your local Walmart! You should really go get a bag of them to get you through these rough times.

    hehe:)

  5. 5 gorillabuns

    so, i guess you know how hard it was not to eat bacon yesterday. my child and i had argued all day about when we were going to have bacon again. i think she needs to AA for bacon lovers.

  6. 6 little miss mel

    what did you give up? i gave up on that years ago when I started picking things i probably wouldn’t do for 40 days. 🙂

  7. 7 Just Plain Jane

    Crap we were supposed to fast on Ash Wd? I thought it was good friday? Where the hell have I been?? that’s what happens when I rely on my 1st grader who goes to catholic school.


Leave a Reply

