Happy Birthday! And oh yeah, Happy Valentines Day!

14Feb07
HAPPY BIRTHDAY, ANDREW.
The girls and I love you VERY much.

Yes, my husband’s birthday is today… Valentine’s Day. Which means that he had many birthdays that looked like this:

Yes, that is a six-year-old boy who loved playing baseball and war. That boy would grow up to be a tall, manly-man who builds big buildings and rides Harleys. And yet, his mother threw him parties with pink and red hearts everywhere.

Now I ask, is that normal? If I had a boy born on Valentine’s Day, would I adorn the party with bows and arrows and cupids and hearts? Mmm, probably not.

The Valentine’s Day birthday caused some confusion while Andrew and I were dating. Was it Valentine’s Day, so he took me out? Or was it Andrew’s Birthday, so I took him out? Which do I say first? Do I buy two cards? (I always did.) The good thing is that Andrew made me enjoy the holiday again. I was turning into a jaded, anti-Valentine’s Day grump before he skillfully and oh-so-stealthfully swept me off my feet. You have to be subtle with me. Blatant wooing makes me panic.

I know somebody else who was born on this special day — Paige’s future husband.

HAPPY FIRST BIRTHDAY, MAX!

Don’t let your mom decorate the party in pink, even if your big sister demands it.

3 Responses to “Happy Birthday! And oh yeah, Happy Valentines Day!”

  1. 1 Sizzle

    i guess having your birthday on v-day is better than on christmas, right?

    yay for his subtle wooing! 😉

    happy valentine’s day.

  2. 2 little e

    Happy Birthday Drew!! Any alone time to celebrate? or is this year a family affair? Love the photo, too. Oh my on the hearts….

  3. 3 180/360

    I’m sure Paige & Max will make quite the couple. Happy Birthday to Andrew. xoxo


Leave a Reply

