Just don’t buy me a crystal ball

09Feb07

I possess a strange and generally useless psychic gift: I can predict when a celebrity is going to die.

It works like this: A thought will strike me, for no apparent reason, which is “Hmmm, I wonder when a famous person is going to die?” Within a week, a famous person passes away. I can’t predict who it will be, just that it will happen.

Well, except in the case of Jimmy Stewart. It happened shortly after another famous, classic Hollywood actor died (whose name I can’t recall at the moment). In late June 1997, I actually said to my mom, “I wonder when Jimmy Stewart will pass away?” And he did, a week later.

In late December 1997, that thought crossed my mind again. A few days later, Michael Kennedy died in a tragic skiing accident. Then Sonny Bono passed away in a skiing accident days after that.

July 1999, I was reading a fashion magazine that featured a blurb about JFK Jr. and his wife. I thought, “Hmmm, I wonder when a famous person is going to die. We’re due for one.” A week later, JFK’s plane went down.

Now…just yesterday morning, I left a comment on Lefty’s blog about this strange talent of mine. And then. AND THEN! What tragic news hit the wires yesterday afternoon? Anna Nicole Smith died unexpectedly. Need proof that I had a vision? Check out my comment to Lefty, time stamp and all! I’m officially frightened.

Friends and readers, do not fret. My fuzzy predictions only cover famous people, so you should be safe. Unless, of course, you become famous someday.

** And a note on Anna Nicole. I truly hope her troubled soul is at rest with her son. I really, truly hope that a sane, competent and stable person can take care of her infant daughter. **

4 Responses to “Just don’t buy me a crystal ball”

  1. 1 Sizzle

    i’m glad this “gift” doesn’t work for non-celebrities. i’d be saying to you- please don’t ever wonder when i will die!

  2. 2 Lefty

    Not only does she predict celebrity deaths, she turned me into a newt!

  3. 3 Malnurtured Snay

    You killed Anna Nicole Smith?

    (THANK YOU!)

  4. 4 180/360

    What a team we could make! I predict births (pregnancy dreams) and you predict deaths. We could call it the:
    “The Life & Death Hotline”


Leave a Reply

